ANZSCO 253317

Intensive Care Specialist (253317): Australian visa occupation information

Perform specialised Intensive Care Specialist duties requiring a bachelor's degree level of skill or higher.

ANZSCO classification reference. List and visa sources may use different classification editions; this page does not classify an individual's work.

Skills assessment references

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA)

  • Specialist pathway – specialist recognition
  • Expedited Specialist pathway
  • Standard pathway

Medical Board of Australia / Ahpra, "Pathways to registration for international medical graduates" (schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026) · Last reviewed: 2026-09-23

Published assessment programs are reference information, not a decision about which program applies to an individual.

Identity

FactValueSourceData verified
ANZSCO code253317ABS ANZSCO
Occupation titleIntensive Care SpecialistABS ANZSCO
Description (first ANZSCO task)Perform specialised Intensive Care Specialist duties requiring a bachelor's degree level of skill or higher.ABS ANZSCO 2013 v1.3

Skills assessment

FactValueSourceData verified
Assessing authorityAustralian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA)Medical Board of Australia / Ahpra, "Pathways to registration for international medical graduates" (schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026)
Published fee · Specialist pathway – specialist recognitionApplication fee for limited registration: AUD 1,131; Registration fee for limited registration: AUD 1,102Medical Board of Australia / Ahpra, "Pathways to registration for international medical graduates" (schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026)
Processing time · Specialist pathway – specialist recognitionNot stated in the held sourceMedical Board of Australia / Ahpra, "Pathways to registration for international medical graduates" (schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026)
Published fee · Expedited Specialist pathwayApplication fee for specialist registration: AUD 1,661; Registration fee for specialist registration (for practitioners who do not hold general registration): AUD 1,102Medical Board of Australia / Ahpra, "Pathways to registration for international medical graduates" (schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026)
Processing time · Expedited Specialist pathwayNot stated in the held sourceMedical Board of Australia / Ahpra, "Pathways to registration for international medical graduates" (schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026)
Published fee · Standard pathwayApplication fee for limited registration: AUD 1,131; Registration fee for limited registration: AUD 1,102; AMC clinical examination (in person; online AUD 3400): AUD 3,000Medical Board of Australia / Ahpra, "Pathways to registration for international medical graduates" (schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026)
Processing time · Standard pathwayNot stated in the held sourceMedical Board of Australia / Ahpra, "Pathways to registration for international medical graduates" (schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026)

National list placement

FactValueSourceData verified
National skilled occupation listsCore Skills Occupation List (CSOL); Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL)LogiVisa occupation dataset; Home Affairs lists
Subclasses mapped to those lists (LogiVisa mapping)189, 190, 491LogiVisa list-to-subclass mapping

State and territory program information

FactValueSourceData verified
Australian Capital Territory (ACT)Listed for subclass 190 + 491 (occupation level) | Program status in the held data: Open (overseas limited) | Program year: 2026-27 | · Checked against the ACT Migration pages (www.act.gov.au/migration) on 13 October 2026. | · 2026-27 allocation: not yet confirmed by the Australian Government. 2025-26 allocation was 800 places for subclass 190 and 800 for subclass 491; total allocation remaining at 30 June 2026 was 0. | · 2026-27 invitation rounds (tentative, may change without notice): week starting 12 October 2026 (subclass 190 only), 25 January 2027, 22 March 2027, 24 May 2027.Official program page and state occupation list as held
New South Wales (NSW)Listed for subclass 190 + 491 (unit-group level) | Program status in the held data: Suspended / Closed | Program year: 2025-26 | · Checked against the NSW Government pages on 13 October 2026. | · Both the Skilled Nominated (190) and Skilled Work Regional (491) pages state applications are closed for the current program year -- all available nomination places have been fully allocated (the notice does not name the program year). | · Applications already submitted continue to be assessed; NSW is reviewing program settings and eligibility criteria for the next program year and has not published them.Official program page and state occupation list as held
Queensland (QLD)Listed for subclass 190 + 491 (occupation level) | Program status in the held data: Suspended / Closed | Program year: 2025-26 | · Checked against the Migration Queensland pages on 13 October 2026; the 2025-26 SNMP ROIs are closed. | · 2026-27 program settings, eligibility criteria and opening date have not yet been published. | · 2026-27 application fees for subclass 190, subclass 491 and the 491 Small Business Owners pathway are listed as 'To be advised'.Official program page and state occupation list as held
Western Australia (WA)Listed for subclass 190 + 491 (occupation level) | Program status in the held data: Check official page | Program year: 2025-26 | · Checked against the Migration WA State Nominated Migration Program page and news list (migration.wa.gov.au) on 13 October 2026. | · The page still shows only the 2025-26 program; no 2026-27 settings, allocation, fees or opening have been published, and the latest SNMP news item is dated 8 December 2025. Whether WA is inviting in 2026-27 is not confirmed -- check the official page. | · Latest invitations shown (issued 20 May 2026, priority trade occupations): General stream WASMOL Schedule 1: 0; WASMOL Schedule 2: 167; Graduate stream higher education: 5; Graduate stream VET: 37 -- all subclass 190, none subclass 491.Official program page and state occupation list as held

A state or territory list entry is published information. It is not a nomination and does not show that any state will nominate. State information is read from LogiVisa's admin state data (the same data the reports use); the date in each row is when that state's data was last verified.

Registration that is separate from the skills assessment

FactValueSourceData verified
Medical Board application fee (general registration)AUD 1,661 · Registration with the Medical Board is a separate step from the skills assessment.Medical Board of Australia — Schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026
Medical Board registration fee (general registration)AUD 1,102Medical Board of Australia — Schedule of fees effective 1 August 2026

ANZSCO duties

  • Perform specialised Intensive Care Specialist duties requiring a bachelor's degree level of skill or higher.
  • Apply advanced technical, professional or managerial expertise to plan, coordinate and evaluate work outcomes.
  • Ensure compliance with relevant professional standards, legislation and workplace requirements.

Sources and dates

Occupation list placement: dataset dated 2026-07-09.

Assessing authority details last verified 2026-09-23.

State and territory lists last verified 2026-09-28.

Official list: Department of Home Affairs, Skilled Occupation List

Occupation titles and task descriptions are based on the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) ANZSCO, 2013, Version 1.3. ABS ANZSCO

Need professional migration advice?

LogiVisa provides information and research tools, not personalised immigration advice. An appropriately authorised migration professional can advise on your individual circumstances.

Search the official registered migration agent register

General information compiled from published sources. It is not migration advice and is not reviewed by a migration agent.

Explore published visa information

Use occupation details, points tools and official references to continue your research.

Search occupations