482 vs 186: published differences
The same rows for both visas. A cell the held data does not state says so; it is never filled with an estimate.
| Feature | Skills in Demand (482) | Employer Nomination Scheme (186) |
|---|---|---|
| Visa type and period | Temporary (up to 4 years; up to 5 for some Hong Kong passport holders) | Permanent (Direct Entry stream shown; the subclass has other streams) |
| Visa application charge (main applicant) | AUD 4,015 | AUD 6,140 |
| Second instalment | None listed in the held data | AUD 4,890 (Family member 18+ applying with main applicant who cannot show Functional English) |
| Points test | No points test | No points test |
| Nomination, sponsorship or enrolment | Employer sponsorship required (sponsor guarantees annual earnings of at least AUD 79,423, from 2026-07-01) | Employer nomination: Must apply for visa within 6 months of nomination approval; does not need to wait for nomination approval to lodge visa application, only needs the nomination Transaction Reference Number (TRN) |
| Requirements listed in the held data (English) | Employer sponsorship required; Occupation on relevant list; Skills and qualifications assessment; 2 years relevant work experience; English language requirement | Skills assessment: required; At least 3 years relevant work experience in nominated occupation, unless exempt; Nominated salary must meet or exceed the Core Skills Income Threshold (CSIT) of AUD 79,423 (effective 1 July 2026), unless exempt by a specific labour agreement; Competent English (main applicant); Functional English for dependants 18+, else second instalment applies |
| Age | Not stated in the held data | Age limit 45 (exemptions are listed by the Department) |
| Processing time | Not a fixed figure: see the Department's processing time guide | Not a fixed figure: see the Department's processing time guide |
| Source and data verified | Home Affairs, subclass 482 · | Home Affairs, subclass 186 information as held · |
Charges are the main-applicant figures held in LogiVisa's fee data (effective 1 July 2026 where the visa page says so). Reduced pricing for some citizenships and additional applicants' charges are not shown.
Requirement text is shown in English as held; the Department's page is the authority.